30 November 2021

His Excellency President Cyril Ramaphosa has arrived at the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport at the beginning of a State Visit to the Federal Republic of Nigeria from 30 November to 1 December 2021.

The visit to Nigeria forms part of a four-nation visit which includes the republics of Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana and Senegal.

The visit to Nigeria coincides with the 10th Session of the Bi-National Commission (BNC) between Nigeria and South Africa.

This year also marks the 20th anniversary of the Bi-National Commission.

The BNC will provide an opportunity for South Africa and Nigeria to deepen relations across the spectrum of South Africa’s national priorities, including political cooperation and the strengthening of economic development cooperation.

The 10th BNC is expected to review and follow up on decisions taken by the 9th Session of the Commission which, among others, included the establishment of an Early Warning Mechanism, the re-establishment of the South Africa-Nigeria Consular Forum, an agreement on Diplomatic Consultations, and the reaffirmation of the historical and political relations between the two countries.

South Africa and Nigeria are also committed to regular consultations on bilateral issues, and continental and global issues of mutual concern.

During this BNC a number of Memoranda of Understanding/Agreement will be signed.

South Africa and Nigeria have strong historical ties dating back to the days of the struggle against apartheid and colonialism. In March 2016, the BNC was elevated from the Deputy/Vice President level to be presided over by the Heads of State, which signifies the strategic importance attached to the bilateral relations and cooperation between the two countries.

President Ramaphosa is accompanied by the Minister of International Relations and Cooperation, Ms Naledi Pandor; Minister of Defence and Military Veterans Ms Thandi Modise; Minister of Police Mr Bhekokwakhe Cele; Minister of Justice and Correctional Services Mr Ronald Lamola, Minister in the Presidency Mr Mondli Gungubelele, and Minister in the Presidency for Women, Youth and Persons with Disabilities Ms Maite Nkoana Mashabane; Minister of Mineral Resources and Energy Mr Gwede Mantashe; Minister of Health Dr Mathume Phaahla; Minister of Trade, Industry and Competition Mr Ebrahim Patel; Minister of Transport Mr Fikile Mbalula, and Deputy Minister of State Security Mr Zizi Kodwa.

The Diplomatic Informer
Average rating:  
 0 reviews