The Ordinary Meeting of the SADC Council of Ministers commenced on, 13 August 2021, in Lilongwe, Malawi, in preparation for the 41st SADC SUMMIT to be held from 17-18 August 2021. The Meeting is being held in hybrid format (with virtual and physical participation).

During the Opening Ceremony, Hon. Verónica Nataniel Macamo Dlhovo, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation of Mozambique, and Chairperson of the Council of Ministers, handed over the Chairship of the SADC Council to Hon. Eisenhower Nduwa Mkaka, Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation of the Republic of Malawi.

The Meeting will consider, amongst others:

The COVID-19 Pandemic Situation in the Region; The update on the Recruitment of the new Executive Secretary and Deputy Executive Secretary for Regional Integration; The Transformation of the SADC Parliamentary Forum into the SADC Parliament; The Update on the Corridor Trip Monitoring System (CTMS); and the Hosting of the African Medicines Agency.

Namibia will formally request the support of the SADC Region for the country’s candidate, Prof. Dr. Kenneth Kamwi Matengu, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Namibia, for the position of President of the Pan-African University.

Hon. Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of International Relations and Cooperation led the Namibian Delegation to the Council. She was accompanied virtually by Hon. Doreen Sioka, Minister of Gender Equality, Poverty Eradication, and Social Welfare, Hon. Lucia Iipumbu, Minister of Industrialisation and Trade, Hon. Kornelia Shilunga, Deputy Minister of Mines and Energy, Hon. Dr. Esther Muinjangue, Deputy Minister of Health and Social Services, and Senior Government Officials. She was also accompanied at the Meeting by HE Asser Kapere, High Commissioner of Namibia to Botswana/SADC.

The Diplomatic Informer
Average rating:  
 0 reviews