The Diplomatic Informer Magazine SA wishes to congratulate the Tanzanian people on the 57th anniversary of the creation of the United Republic of Tanzania.

Union Day commemorates the union of Zanzibar and Tanganyika becoming the United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar on 26th April 1964. It is a public holiday in Tanzania on April 26th.

The first European to visit Tanzania was Vasco da Gama in 1498. European colonialism in the region began on mainland Tanzania during the late 19th century when Germany formed German East Africa.

Following World War I, the mainland came under British control and was ruled as Tanganyika, with Zanzibar remaining a separate colonial jurisdiction.

Tanganyika gained its independence in 1961. The British ended the protectorate status of Zanzibar in December 1963 making it constitutional monarchy under the rule of Sultan Jamshid bin Abdullah. A month later, the Sultan was deposed in a socialist revolution.

On April 26th 1964, Zanzibar and Tanganyika became the United Republic of Tanganyika and Zanzibar with the country renamed to Tanzania in October of that year. Zanzibar is now a semi-autonomous region within Tanzania.

Did you know?

‘Tanzania’ is a combination of ‘Tan’ from Tanganyika and ‘Zan’ from Zanzibar, reflecting the origin of the country.

We wish all Tanzanians peace, prosperity, and good health.